Hi, everybody. How ya doin’?

So… a lot has gone down since I last wrote here in [checks notes] January? (Yikes, I’ve really let cobwebs gather over here.) Among them…

  • My podcast, A Good Nightmare Comes So Rarely, which — as you may recall — concerns itself with the downfall (and possible return) of the notorious Broadway flop Dance of the Vampires, now has two episodes out, and many more to come! (On a mildly related note, the CDAN blind item is about us, but we’re not ready to comment just now.)
  • For years, many of my friends have told me that with the depth and breadth of my knowledge of certain musicals, I should write a book. Many of them particularly pestered me for a definitive study guide to Jesus Christ Superstar, not from a behind-the-scenes history perspective, but similar to the student materials that MTI and other licensing houses hand out. I resisted for a long time… until I couldn’t anymore. You can visit this link to read Impressions of a Crucifixion, an in-depth guide to JCS for performers, directors, and passionate enthusiasts. I welcome all responses – questions, critiques, comments, you name it. It feels like I’ve been writing this book for most of my life because, in a way, I have. I hope it was worth the effort!
  • On the production front, things are continuing to percolate; as of September, I’m in my 18th year of “almost fame.” Richard and I recently made a solicited Netflix submission, and we’re actively scouting financing for other projects, both stage and screen.

But more importantly, I’m returning to this blog, because in its downtime, I’ve done a lot of re-reading, taking stock, assessing, recalibrating even. Looking back over the past four years of its existence, there’s a lot of “practical advice” on this blog that I would not be nearly so regimented about now; on the other hand, there are a lot of ideas, specifically where my directing and business proposals are concerned, that have been refined and polished.

And thus, my new series: “Update and Refresh.” I’m going to take a second look at some items where my initial instincts have evolved over time and restate my thesis, as it were.

I’m starting with some low-hanging fruit: script formatting.